Churros is one of the most traditional foods in Spain and other Latin American countries, so trying them is a must, but…Are churros vegan? Well, today we will be answering to that question, and we will also tell you the recipe to make them at home:
Are Churros Vegan?
Although the majority of the Spanish dishes are not vegan, and most of them are not even vegetarian, luckily, there is an exception with the churros. Churros in Spain are basically made with wheat flour, sugar, oil, salt, and a churro maker…you won´t need much more.
Something completely different happens with other variations of churros, for example, Mexican churros are made with egg, and in other Latin American countries they use pig fat, so keep it in mind before trying any type of churros.
Vegan chocolate sauce for churros
If you want to live the full Spanish story, you will need to have your churros with a cup of chocolate, and don´t worry because it has an easy solution for vegans.
To make it, instead of heavy cream or milk, just use coconut milk and for the chocolate check that is dairy free. Then make a normal chocolate recipe.
Enjoy the Spanish vegan churros!
As you have seen, the Spanish version of churros (which is the most famous one), is vegan, so just enjoy it! There are also ways to make Mexican churros in a vegan way, but we truly recommend you trying this recipe…it´s worth it! Hope this article was useful, and if you have any other question or suggestion, please let us know.